“Mockingjay – Part 2” Teaser Trailer DROPPED!!!

The Mockingjay – Part 2 Teaser Trailer has FINALLY DROPPED!!!! šŸ˜€Ā 

That being said, I just wanted to share some of my excitements and worries about this final installment to the Hunger Games trilogy movies!!! šŸ™‚ I remember being super skeptical about these movies from the beginning, partly because I greatly enjoyed the books. I thought that Suzanne Collins did a great job in creating the dystopian world, developing incredible characters, and weaving in some real political and social themes for a YA trilogy. Needless to say, I had set my expectation bar pretty low because I was really nervous.

This teaser trailer definitely looks awesome!!! šŸ˜€ I am so pleased with how long the teaser trailer is and I feel that we are getting way more than we typically get in a “teaser trailer”. I am worried/excited – I remember ALL of my feelings from the second part of the book and I am so nervous that the movie will not translate the feelings as well. Now, if you’re interested in some of my thoughts about the other movies, specifically “Mockingjay – Part 1”, then read on!

I definitely enjoyed the first two movies – I thought that the second movie was a bit more real to the book than the first one, but for the first one being in first-person, I thought that the movie still did the book justice. Now, “Mockingjay”…when I first heard that the movie was going to be split into two – I. WAS. FURIOUS!!! First, the book is definitely NOT long enough for two movies. Second, there are so many emotions that happen during this book and I worried that splitting the movies up would take away from the emotions from the third book. And lastly, I was super worried that they would take out key aspects of the book and put in a bunch of not necessary filler scenes. Le sigh – the troubles of a bookish lover when it comes to book-to-movie adaptations, right?

With all of that being said, the first movie was surprisingly better than I was anticipating. I really enjoyed the creation of District Thirteen, it was near exactly how I pictured it when I was reading the book. All of the emotions that I felt during the first part of the book was carefully transplanted into the movie, relatively well! Katniss’ PTSD and the broadcasts of Peeta from the Capitol were so heartbreaking, and I thought the truest parts from the book.

What I was not so pleased with was the portrayal of President Coin. Not only was she oddly likable in “Mockingjay – Part 1”, you definitely DID NOT gather any false pretenses from her character, that you gather about President Coin in the book. I am anxious to see the shift, then, in President Coin’s character in the second part coming out, and how that impacts District Thirteen.

And OH MY!!! 0_0 That last scene with Peeta?!?!?! Oh…my heart nearly stopped in my chest and I felt ALL OF THE EMOTIONS all at once!!!! So well done – BEST way to wrap up “Mockingjay – Part 1” and I am so glad that that is where the movie was stopped. I am so anxious to see where the second movie starts up again, and how Peeta and Katniss’ relationship changes throughout the book.

So, here’s to hoping the second part of the movie lives up to the hype and that it wraps up the story true to the books! šŸ˜€

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on ““Mockingjay – Part 2” Teaser Trailer DROPPED!!!

  1. I loved this trailer. I felt like they were kind of playing with our emotions, seeing how so many “emotions” we get from the book, get screen time on this trailer… Katniss and Prim, Finnick and Annie… we know what happens, so it made me cry watching this trailer, which I guess it’s a good thing?!

    I think that this second part is the reason they slip it into 2 – there’s a lot going on in this second part of the book, so maybe it was the only way to do it justice.

    Contrary to most people I really liked part 1, I thought it was an excellent adaptation and that last scene… wow!

    Like

Leave a comment