Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag ;)

mid year book freak out tag

It’s July. Of 2017. Already. Commence freak out! 

I don’t know about y’all, but I am still so confounded about how it’s already half way through the year! 2017 has been a great year of reading so far for me and I’m happy to share that I’m about halfway to my reading goal! So I thought this would be a fun way to look behind at the reading that I’ve done and look ahead to what I’m still exciting to read!

I’ve seen this tag circulating around the BookTube for a little while now, so I decided to bring it to our little blog home! I’ll link below a few videos that I enjoyed watching and inspired me to do this tag. With that being said, let’s get on with the questions!

  1. Best book of 2017 so far // I think I’m going to have to go with Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. I’ve reviewed this book here on the blog already, but let me tell you…this was stunning, it made me feel all the feels and I think everyone needs to read this!! 
  2. Best sequel of 2017 // I think hands down it’s going to have to be Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. This was incredible for so many reasons, I’ve reviewed this book here too! This was such a huge sophisticated jump for Cassandra Clare and I adored it! 
  3. A new release I haven’t read yet // I think this has to go to Strange the strange the dreamerDreamer by Laini Taylor. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews, so I definitely know I need to get to this ASAP! 
  4. Your most anticipated release for the second half of the year // Most of my most anticipated releases have already come out and I’ve read them, but I am also really excited for Warcross by Marie Lu. I’ve just started reading Marie Lu’s other books and have been really enjoying them, so I cannot wait to pick up another one of hers later this year. 
  5. Your biggest disappointment // This is a sad question, but I was definitely let down by Shelter by Jung Yun. I thought that this was a sad book that didn’t have much more depth than that, which was hard to enjoy. 
  6. Biggest surprise // To be quite honest, I have to go with Lord of Shadows again. This is definitely part of one of my biggest guilty reading pleasures, but this one was so different! Like I said, this was so beyond sophisticated compared to the earlier novels, and I really appreciated Cassandra Clare using this book to make some much needed social commentary. 
  7. Your favorite new author // I think this has to go to Yaa Gyasi for Homegoing. Homegoing was her debut novel and it left me completely breathless. I cannot wait for more works from her, hopefully soon! 
  8. New fictional crush // I think this has to go to Nick from Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan. These books are so much fun and Nick is definitely a breath of fresh air, as a male protagonist! I appreciate Kevin Kwan expanding on Asian story archetypes and creating characters that not only we can relate to, but characters that we don’t often see in media. Nick is a history professor who comes from a beyond wealthy family, but wants a life that is more than just your social status. I find Nick to be compassionate, empathetic, intelligent and kind, and I appreciate that in a male protagonist. There is no dark brooding or mood swings that shift whenever…he’s just an all around good guy and I so appreciate that. 
  9. Your new favorite character // I think this has to be Iseult from Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I have a full review of this up on the blog, so check it out! Iseult is smart, kind and has a dark past, which we don’t see too often in female protagonists. I am excited to see how her character continues to evolve through this series, as this was a great first book! 
  10. A book that made you cry // Oh, like a baby…this has to go to Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I sobbed my eyes out, particularly at the end of the book. I also have a review up on the blog for this one…but this one definitely had me surprised. You know the book is going in one direction and even when it goes there, it somehow is able to hit you with this wrecking ball of feelings that I couldn’t hold in while reading. Definitely sobbed like a baby. Like, full on ugly cry…
  11.  A book that made you happy // I definitely have to go with Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. I was so beyond excited for this book and I read this nearly in one sitting. I love the way Jenny Han writes such beautiful, uplifting and sweet contemporaries. This book was the perfect wrap up to her trilogy of books and this book was as sweet as cotton candy! 
  12. Most beautiful book // I think this might be The Twelve Lives of Samuel the twelve lives of samuel hawleyHawley by Hannah Tinti. I have no idea what this book is about, but my boyfriend bought this for me on a whim and it is truly a beautiful book. Both the jacket and the hardcover…are just beautiful works of art!
  13. What books do you still need to read by the end of the year // Now, like most people, I have quite the extensive TBR list for the rest of the year…so let’s just say that I have a lot of exciting books to get to! 🙂 

So that’s it! That’s the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag! Hope you enjoyed reading through some of my bookish reflections for this first half of the year. What about you all? What has been your favorite read so far? What are you most looking forward to? I am going to share some of my favorite videos, for you all to enjoy as well! Happy reading!!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

