Quick Take: CRAy!!

Crazy Rich Asians (#1) by Kevin Kwan
three-star-rating-black-hiΒ (.75)

crazy rich asiansI am so behind in my reviews, so the next few are going to be “Quick Take” styles just to get myself caught up on everything! But, I have definitely read quite a bit and have enjoyed all of it! πŸ™‚

Up first for my “Quick Take” reviewing marathon:Β “Crazy Rich Asians”!! I definitely very much enjoyed this and had so much fun with this book. Yes, I did partially pick this up because of the INCREDIBLE news about the all-Asian cast film adaptation coming here soon!!

As an Asian-American woman, I am always excited when I see movies or books centered around Asians/Asian-Americans and attempting to broaden the narrative around Asians/Asian-Americans. So, I am all about this book and the upcoming film – I cannot wait! πŸ™‚

Now for the book: like I said, I had so much fun with it! πŸ™‚ The story was fun and scandalous – and I loved that it was an all-Asian cast! A lot of these fun, fluffier stories never really involve Asians, as if Asians can’t live a lifestyle like the characters in this book. There wasn’t anything necessarily deeper to the story, but it mattered to me to be able to read a book that had an all-Asian cast when these types of stories are typically written about White people.

So, story was fun! A little drawn out for my taste, hence the bumps down in my star-rating, but still super fun! I loved the two main characters and their relationship dynamic; Nick and Rachel! They were great and their relationship were definitely #relationshipgoals! Plus, I am super stoked that the QUEEN, Constance Wu, will be playing Rachel in the upcoming adaptation!!! Aside from the fun storyline and the main characters, I did love how developed the other side characters were and all of the family relations.

There is my short and sweet review, not much to say honestly. It was fun, scandalous, hilarious and quick read! πŸ™‚ I would highly recommend it and I’ve already picked up the next book to read here soon too!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Quick Take: CRAy!!

  1. […] fictional crush // I think this has to go to Nick from Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan. These books are so much fun and Nick is definitely a breath of fresh air, as a male […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

