Quick Take: Wild

Wild by Cheryl Strayd
three-star-rating-black-hi

Whew! I have been in quite the reading and blogging slump, my friends -_- Le sigh… I wildfinished “Wild” by Cheryl Strayd at the beginning of April and totally put off my review and even picking up another book. But…I’m back! šŸ™‚ I am posting a “quick take” review of this AND you’ll be seeing another review from me in the next few days here of another book I just finished. Your girl’s got her reading/blogging groove back! šŸ˜‰

Like I said, I read “Wild” towards the beginning of April. A colleague/friend of mine lent it to me and it was one of my 2017 Pop-Sugar Reading Challenge reads. I was excited to pick this one up! I had heard quite a bit about it and had heard some great reviews. Overall, I did enjoy it. I think Cheryls’ writing style is captivating and incredibly expressive. Her writing somehow evokes the same feelings in you, as you read her words on the page. Her story is heartbreaking and empowering, all at the same time…and I fully appreciate Cheryl putting herself out there for the world to see.

Now…if I liked the book so much and if I was so touched by Cheryls’ story…why the only 3-star rating? Well…my qualms with this book are outside of Cheryls’ story and writing style. My qualms with this book was how as a woman of color…I couldn’t identify with Cheryl at all. I had such a hard time reading this book and not feeling the slightest bit frustrated with the overwhelming white privilege that is apparent in Cheryls’ story. Now, let me make myself very, very clear. I am not faulting Cheryl AT ALL…from one woman to another, I am overwhelmed with respect for her for not just going on this incredible journey, but for putting herself out there for the world to see. Her story really is an incredible one and I am absolutely certain that there are loads of people out there who can and do relate to her story. I just couldn’t. And I think this is an overwhelming problem with our society. Why can’t I see myself in her story? Why can’t I connect with another woman’s incredible journey? I will tell you why…privilege. In this country, we have not yet figured out a way to not only eradicate racism, but to work to build systems that are more equal for everyone.

I urge you to read Rahawa Hailes’ story – she is a queer black woman who hiked the Appalachian Trail, which is the sister trail to the one that Cheryl Strayd hiked. I urge you to read her story and see both the parallels in both of these women’s stories, but also the dissonance.

Thank you to both women for sharing your experiences and stories. I am so incredibly grateful that you both were able to find the peace that you were looking for and I can only hope that everyone can find that sense of peace…in whatever way speaks most to them.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

