Quick Take: Stitches

Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, and Repair by Anne Lamott
four-star-rating-black-hi

518ddif1ddl-_sx280_bo1204203200_Years ago, I saw Anne Lamott speak at a conference and it felt like a breath of fresh air. Her explanations of writing and love and grace were unlike anything I had experienced up to that point. I then read Bird by Bird, and got about 300 pages of the same thing. I loved it.

I recently saw Anne Lamott speak again last week at church, and felt more of the same. Afterwards, I got to snag two books and get them signed–this one, and a free copy of her new one, Hallelujah Anyway. Just like a few years back, Stitches was just what I needed.

“Some people have a thick skin and you don’t. Your heart is really open and that is going to cause pain, but that is an appropriate response to this world.”

This is a good book when you’re tired of how f–ked up the world is, which feels like a daily occurrence nowadays (or is that just me?). She makes some great, poetic points interwoven into her beautifully told stories. It’s a super quick read, so you can set aside an afternoon to knock it out. I knocked off a star because the narrative felt a little disorganized at parts.

Side note: I really liked the design of this book, especially the dark green ink for the print. Hallelujah Anyway is printed in dark purple, which I am all about! Why don’t more books do this?!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

