Quick Takes: After You

After You (#2) by Jojo Moyes
three-star-rating-black-hi

I’m going to go down the “quick take” review route for this read, mainly because there isn’t a after youwhole lot to say and this book pretty much speaks for itself. This definitely isn’t a knock on the book because as you can see from my star rating…I obviously enjoyed this book.

I read “Me Before You” last month and I absolutely loved it. Oh how I loved it. I sobbed for nearly 15ish minutes after I finished this book. The book was unbelievably sad and while I knew how it was going to end, Jojo Moyes did an incredible job of weaving together the most heartbreaking of love stories I’ve ever read. So of course, I NEEDED to pick up this continuation of the story. I literally couldn’t resist.

As this is a continuation of a story, I can’t say much without spoiling the first book. If you want a good love story that tugs at all of your heartstrings, I highly recommend picking up Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes or you can also check out my review of it on the blog. And then, if you want more fun romance, woman trying to find herself and hot guys, pick this one up for a light beach read 🙂

So quick review: this is a continuation of Louisa’s life after the death of Will. Louisa has traversed across Europe to live a supposed “full life” and then has found herself settled into London. After a weird freak accident, where she fell off of her building (yep…you read that right…), she finds herself joining a grief support group and learning to live and love again. This is the most adult coming-of-age stories and I very much enjoyed it.

I appreciated the storyline of an adult woman who doesn’t necessarily have it all together and is still trying to find her place in the world. I loved seeing her mess up and make her own mistakes along the way.

Now of course, the giant plot twist in this book is the arrival of Lily, Will’s supposed daughter. Lily and Louisa’s growing relationship was the highlight of this book for me, as it makes for massive growth for both of their characters. Louisa, the grown woman who doesn’t seem to know how to make her way in the world, now being forced to care for a sixteen-year old. And Lily, an emotionally distant and ignored sixteen-year old living life to the absolute edge just to feel anything. Their stories were heartbreaking in a very different, yet welcome way.

Overall, this book was fun and light-hearted. I read this while on vacation in SoCal and it was the most perfect read for my vacation. If you’re looking for something light and fun, then definitely pick up these two books. I will definitely be picking up more of Jojo Moyes’ books moving forward! 🙂

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

