Black Lives Matter!!

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomasfive-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

the hate u giveY’all. If you read ANY book this year…you need to make it THIS ONE!! I fell in love with this book the MOMENT I heard about the book and its premise. I knew I needed to get my hands on it, so you best believe that I went ahead and pre-ordered this precious gem!!

Quick synopsis: Starr Carter is a sixteen-year old girl living between two worlds – the poor neighborhood where she lives and the predominantly white affluent suburban private school. She constantly finds herself torn between both worlds; shifting and balancing the two halves of herself constantly. One night, after a party, Starr is riding home with her childhood best friend, Khalil, when they are stopped by a white cop and Khalil is shot. Protests and rallies being. Investigation of the case stalls by the police. National coverage begins to cover the story and consume Starr and her family’s life and Starr has to make a decision about the stance that she wants to take on the situation.

This book was a heartbreaker from the moment that it started. Starr is written in the most beautifully relatable way, within a story that is so heartbreakingly real. The overwhelming feeling that I had while reading this book was like I was constantly being sucker punched in the gut. The book just felt so real, since I can point out events like this, unfortunately, still happening in real life. Which believe me, confounds me time and time again. If you’d like to read more of my specific thoughts on this head on over to my personal blog!!

Angie Thomas created the truest social/political in book form and what makes it even better? It’s a book starring a sixteen-year old black girl! This is something that we don’t see often enough in YA books and definitely something that we need to see more of in book today. We watch Starr balance her two worlds at such a young age that it’s heartbreaking at times to read. Starr shouldn’t have to balance her worlds like this; she shouldn’t have to put so much time and thought in how to act at school and then how to act at home. Her character was written in the most authentic way, that you could feel the tear between the two worlds for Starr.

This book was engaging and riveting…I could hardly put it down!! Angie Thomas has written this book in a way that keeps you hoping for a happier ending, as she balances the reality of the “Black Lives Matter” movement, as well. She builds in you a sense of urgency and advocacy. It made me want to jump into action right at that moment, rather than reading the book.

Aside from this short review, there’s really not much else I can say. I can’t review this book like I review any other book because it definitely isn’t like any other book. It’s unique, raw and one of the most real books that I’ve ever read. I am beyond thrilled that I read it and I will be telling all of my friends to read this book this year.

Again, if you read any book this year…read this one!!! Angie Thomas, all my “thank you’s” and love. And to any of our readers who identify as black, please know that I see you, I value you and I stand with you ❤

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Black Lives Matter!!

  1. This just went on my TBR pile! Can’t wait to get started!

    Like

  2. This is such a great review! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the book this much and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of it 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

