Top 5 Books of 2016

2016-eoy

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!!! 

We hope you’ve all had a wonderful holiday season and a great ringing in of the New Year! What better way to start a new year of reading than to look back on our favorite reads of the last year!! So without further ado, here is what made each of our lists!

Christina

This list is in no particular order 🙂

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I cannot believe that it has taken me this long to read this book, but I finally did and I am so happy that I did! This book was captivating and heartbreaking in the best way possible.
  2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: This was such a fun read! This was super action packed, full of geeky wonderfulness and the world that was created was so immersive!
  3. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: This was the year that I finally read The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Device trilogy by Cassandra Clare and I am quite happy that I did! I absolutely favored The Infernal Devices trilogy – the writing, the characters and the story – all of it was definitely so much fun to read!
  4. milk and honey by Rupi Kaur: By far, the best book that I’ve read this year. Everyone needs to read this incredibly beautiful piece of work. This is the most authentic and vulnerable piece that I’ve read in a very long time.
  5. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys: Who knew that two historical fiction books would end up on my top 5 list? 🙂 Another heartbreaking account built beautifully through different POVs and a beautiful story.

Rachel

Also in no particular order!

  1. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: if this sequel ended up being just as good as Six of Crows, I would have been happy. Somehow it was even better than the first! Hang tight for a double review in the coming weeks from Mina and I!
  2. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab: Another great sequel! Thankfully, it doesn’t suffer from middle book syndrome. Although the plot felt a little more predictable, that didn’t take away from the great storyline!
  3. Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon: a man writes of his travels throughout the United States. He takes only the small, blue-colored roads found on his map. What follows are unique stories that could only come from the smallest of towns.
  4. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates: I listened to an incredible podcast on racism in America (multiple times), which led me to this book.  I can’t explain how mind-blowing this was. My jaw was literally dropping. Read to get #woke.
  5. Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt: A heart-warming/wrenching story you can (and should!) read in one sitting. Marketed for younger ages, but it’s a story all could enjoy.

Hoping to write out some actual reviews for the first four soon!! Going to throw out my tried and true excuse of Grad school ruining my life and keeping me from this blog!

 

What a great year of reading we had here in our little blog community! Now, we want to hear from you all! What were some of your top reads of the past year? Leave them in the comments for us! 🙂

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

