tl;dr this one better than them all

Okay, okay. I was wrong. You don’t need to go out and read The Good Girl immediately (although you should, in the very near future), you need to go read this novel instead.

missing girls.jpgAll the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hifive-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

Wow. I don’t even know where to start. This book has been compared to Girl on the Train, and yes, yes yes. Let’s start somewhere… the story is about a young lady named Nic who is from a small town where her best friend disappeared 10 years ago. She comes back to take care of her dad’s house – as her dad was moved to a home a year ago due to his mental instability. While Nic is home, another girl goes missing, one that her high school sweetheart is seeing.

What is absolutely amazing about this novel is that it is told day by day, backwards. I found myself wanting to read it in chronological order instead – desperate to know what happened – but then realized that each chapter gave me a little more that still made sense this way. I had to put my faith in the fact that if the author wanted it read this way, I had to do it. And OH MY GOD, she did not disappoint. By Day 1 (out of 15), I was freaking out with the details each day brought. What was so amazing is that the way the characters act in the later days (the earlier part of the book) would never, EVER, show what actually happened in the beginning.

Wow. I do not remember feeling this amazed after Gone Girl, or Girl on the Train. I’ve been on a bit of a murder/mystery kick, and this really took it to the next level. Well developed characters and an amazing psychological game of learning everything backwards. Of course there is a twist ending, and the very last twist was a bit of an old trick that I wasn’t too impressed with, but the rest of it made up for that.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

