BookTube-A-Thon 2016 Wrap Up!!

booktubeathon

BookTube-A-Thon Wrap Up Stats:

Day 1: 42 pages – “The BFG” by Roald Dahl
Day 2: 0 pages – womp womp…
Day 3: 166 pages – finished “The BFG” by Roald Dahl
Day 4: 233 pages – started & finished “American Born Chinese” by Gene Luen Yang and started “The Raven Boys” by Maggie Stiefvater
Day 5: 21 pages – “The Raven Boys” by Maggie Stiefvater
Day 6: 0 pages – womp womp…
Day 7: 197 pages – started & finished “The Cloud Searchers” by Kazu Kibuishi

In total, I finished 3 books and started 1 book. I definitely was hoping to get through a few more of my reads, but all in all, I am impressed with my first read-a-thon!! 🙂 It was a lot of fun and it definitely got my reading stride back!

With that, I am going to do mini-reviews of the books that I finished reading.

Since I did a full review of “The BFG” by Roald Dahl, I am going to do mini reviews on “American Born Chinese” by Gene Luen Yang and “The Cloud Searchers” by Kazu Kibuishi. If any of you participated in the BookTube-A-Thon, let us know how you did! 🙂 And with that, here are the reviews!!

American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang    five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

This was so great!! I can’t believe that it has taken me this long to pick this read up. I american born chinese
found the intersection of the four individual character stories such a great way to communicate the main point. The story of the Monkey King was fun and definitely made me laugh throughout – I found it to be a good comedic relief to the rest of the story. The story of Jin was so relatable and it warmed my heart. The story of Danny and his cousin, Chin-Kee, was interesting and I didn’t see the point until the end of the book. The big turning point of the story was when Jin turned into a white boy…Danny!! What?! And not only that! Chin-Kee turned out to be the Monkey King, using the character of Chin-Kee in order to try to encourage Jin to not only accept his identity, but to take pride in his identity as a Chinese man. I found this to be an encouraging and empowering read, and I appreciated the form that it took as a graphic novel.

The Cloud Searchers (Amulet #3) by Kazu Kibuishi    five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

amulet #3I loved this!!!! This is definitely my favorite of the series, so far! This installment was action-packed, full of plot and story development, and started to give you new insights into the characters. I think why I loved this story so much was that the story really started to develop and move along, versus the first two books. The first two books were definitely setting the stage, for where I think this next book is taking the rest of the story. I am excited to read more about the partnership between Trellis and Emily, as they work together to take down the Elf King.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

