June TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

poetry

Hello readers!! I know I say this every month, but I really cannot believe that June has come and gone! I hope you are all enjoying your summer months and getting some good quality reading in! With the conclusion of another month, comes another wrap up post from yours truly! June’s TBR Jar Challenge was: a book of poetry. This was definitely a little out of our comfort zones and so, check out what was read this month!

Mina: milk and honey by Rupi Kaur        five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

This wasn’t the original book that I said that I was going to read this month, but I picked milk and honeythis up on recommendation from a friend and I HAD to read this as my June TBR Jar Challenge book. This has quickly climbed up to the top of my favorites list for the year and greatly impacted me. This read was a clear example of how poetry can be used to convey some powerful emotions and experiences. I will never do this book justice, so I will do my best. This was a collection of poems about love, loss, trauma, abuse, healing, and femininity. We need more brave souls like Rupi Kaur who are willing to put their hearts and souls into the written word, that will touch the hearts and souls of so many. I highly recommend!!!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “June TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

  1. […] milk and honey by Rupi Kaur: By far, the best book that I’ve read this year. Everyone needs to read this incredibly beautiful piece of work. This is the most authentic and vulnerable piece that I’ve read in a very long time. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

