May TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

pikachu

Hello readers! Are you as confused as I am as to where the month of May went? May has gone and June is quickly descending upon us!! With the close of each month, comes a close to another challenge. It’s crazy to think that we are nearly half way through our challenges for the year! Craziness! If you’ve joined in with us on our challenges throughout the year, thank you and we hope that you continue to read with us! Now, this month’s challenge was: a book you know nothing about. Let’s see if we were able to complete our challenge for the month! 🙂

Ranie: Relief Map by Rosalie Knecht      four-star-rating-black-hi / five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi
relief mapThis was a story about a small town that for locked down when a fugitive was thought to be hiding in it. It is told from 16-year-old Livy’s perspective as the town struggles without electricity, medicine, and fresh food for six days. Although the writing was rather simple, the story was interesting with plenty of twists, action, and a satisfying ending.

 

Mina: The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg
Another month, another challenge failed for me 😥 This month has been crazy with work and other life stuff, that I have been in a major two-month reading slump. I think I’m happy to say that I may be coming out of my reading slump, so I am excited to get my summer reading game on! 🙂

Amelia: The Kingdom of this World by Alejo Carpentier  ijss5
51q2bvowfirl-_sx331_bo1204203200_I think that knowing nothing about this book led to a less enjoyable reading. Not only did I know nothing about this book; I knew nothing about the subject matter (Haitian revolts). The style of writing was interesting, with magical realism woven through the plot, but frankly I didn’t find it all that interesting.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

