Hamilton Book Tag

hamilton

So, I have been listening to the Hamilton soundtrack non-stop for a little while now. It is very obvious that I am obsessed and rightfully so! This soundtrack is incredible and I am counting down the days till I can see it live! If you haven’t taken a listen to this soundtrack, I 100% recommend that you start like yesterday! Hamilton is a Broadway musical written by the incredible Lin Minuel-Miranda and was inspired by the 2004 biography. This musical is innovative filled with hip-hop, rap, and jazz all while still incorporating the Broadway sound and feel.

I stumbled upon this Hamilton Book Tag amongst BookTube and I decided that I had to do this, as it’s combining two of my favorite things at the moment. I watched Maureen’s original video, and then Christine’s video – both super well done. So, I decided to take a turn at it.

There will be some spoilers for a few books in this post, so I would say read with caution. Spoilers will be present for the Harry Potter series and the Divergent trilogy. 

1. The Room Where It Happens: Book world you you would put yourself in // In God we trust, But we’ll never really know what got discussed, Click-boom then it happened, And no one else was in the room where it happened

I mean, this is probably the most obvious answer…why would you say anything else other than the Wizarding World of Harry Potter?! Take me to Hogwarts…like now, please!! 🙂

2. The Schuyler Sisters: Underrated female character // You want a revolution? I want a revelation, So listen to my declaration: We hold these truths to be self-evident, That all men are created equal”

I had to think about this and I decided to talk about a female character and book that I think is underrated: Cassie from The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I read both this and The Infinite Star last year and fell in love!!! 😀 Yancey’s writing is incredible, haunting, and a definite mind-eff. Cassie is a real BA young female protagonist that has to go through a ton in this trilogy.

3. My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anyone stop them // I am not throwing away my shot! I am not throwing away my shot! Hey yo, I’m just like my country, I’m young, scrappy, and hungry, and I am not throwing away my shot! 

This is one that I almost completely forgot about, but this character totally fits this question. Nimona from the graphic novel, Nimona. I also read this last year and loved it. Nimona is all about being a sidekick for the most evil villain and even though, she’s a little quirky and not very desirable as a sidekick, she goes for it anyways!

4. Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive // Ev’ryone attack! Retreat! Attack! Retreat! What are you doing, Lee? Get back on your feet! 

I know I’ve already mentioned Harry Potter, but I really don’t know what else I would say for this kind of question. Haha! Like everyone and anyone who died in these books, mainly Sirius, Snape, Fred, Lupin, Tonks, Dumbledore…oh my feels!!

5. Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read // Watching it burn, The world has no right to my heart, The world has no place in our bed, You have torn it all apart, I am watching it, Burn

Most recently, I have to say that the most heartbreaking, yet heartwarming end to a relationship was the love triangle between Will, Tessa, and Jem in The Infernal Devices trilogy. This was one of the best love triangles that I’ve ever read – it was all heartbreaking and all the feels all at the same time.

6. The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read // You’ll be back, soon you’ll see, You’ll remember you belong to me, You’ll be back, time will tell, You’ll remember that I served you well

Weirdly enough, the first name that comes to mind is Sebastian from The Mortal Instruments series. He was weirdly delusional, which made him super sassy and an incredibly complex and rich character.

7. The Reynolds Pamphlet – A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming // Have you read this? Well, he’s never gon’ be President now, Never gon’ be President now

The Divergent trilogy – and I do mean this trilogy as a whole. I was very pleased with the various twists and turns that this book took. Quite unexpected for a YA dystopian.

8. Non-stop: A series you marathoned // How do you write like you’re running out of time? Write day and night like you’re running out of time? 

The most marathoning that I’ve done are The Infernal Devices trilogy and The Mortal Instruments series. I went on a massive Cassandra Clare bender which sort of explains my current reading slump.

9. Satisfied: Favorite book with multiple POVs // From your sister, Who is always by your side, To your union, And the hope that you provide, May you always, Be satisfied 

Winter – being able to read from the various main characters POV’s throughout the whole story was so much fun and such a great way to bring the story all the way full circle.

10. Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history // Every founding father story gets told, Every founding father gets to grow old, But when you’re gone, who remembers your name? Who keeps your flame? 

Okay…I have to say this one again for this, but I feel like it’s obvious and inevitable: the Harry Potter series!! Obviously. This series will go down as classics someday and I am so happy and so grateful to have had them come out during my lifetime.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

