February TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

friends recommending books

Hello readers! We are now 2 months into our 2016 TBR Jar Challenge! This past month was really exciting and we had a whole lot of fun with it. This months TBR Jar Challenge was: a book someone recommended to you. We picked books for one another and this was definitely a fun little challenge for us. Now, here are our mini-reviews of what we’ve read this month! 🙂

Rachel: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart      three-star-rating-black-hi

91cmhg1mvalThis was a nice breath of fresh air while slogging through Atlas Shrugged! It was a quick, easy read, and I finished most of it in an afternoon. Comparing it to how long AS is taking, I definitely came to the realization that reading pages are not one-size-fits-all. I’d be happy to get through two chapters of Atlas Shrugged in an afternoon! Anyways, this book was fun, and not one I would normally pick up. The twist at the end definitely surprised me. I’m sticking with three stars, though, because I wasn’t blown away by the writing or the characters. I didn’t feel much sympathy for these kids. A lot of people blame it on the fact that they’re rich, but I don’t think that’s it. Lockhart uses some pretty imagery to describe the characters, but they still didn’t feel very real to me, so I wasn’t able to connect with them. Also, the storytelling would switch from concrete to metaphorical in an instant, which was confusing at points. But if you love shows like Pretty Little Liars that suck you in with some crazy story, this will be right up your alley!

Christina: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak      five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

I am so happy that I finally read this!! 🙂 I attempted to read this last January and I got the book thiefthrough about half of it, but reading this felt like such a chore. I thought that it had to do with the book, but looking back it was definitely that I wasn’t in a good head space for it. This book was beautiful and haunting, and such a beautiful tribute to the tragedy that was the Holocaust. Reading from Deaths’ narrative was so captivating and powerful. The best part about this book were the relationships between the characters and what brought them together in war time. The way this book ended really did come full circle for the characters, which was so satisfying. I sobbed and had a few good laughs, reminding us that we can find some good in the midst of tragedy. Beautiful read!

Val: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith       four-star-rating-black-hi

geography of you and meIt took me a few tries to really get going on this (partially because I was so busy),  but I finally sat down and read it all in one swoop. The premise of two teenagers being so enamored with each other that the distance between them didn’t matter,  was very sweet. The whole novel has a very light hearted feel,  and I found myself racing through pages to find out what happened next. Both of the characters life stories were interesting unique,  I have not seen similar stories in a while, and thought they were very well done. The writing was rather simple and I think had potential for more to pull you into the storyline better. Overall,  a good read! Thanks Christina!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “February TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

  1. […] The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I cannot believe that it has taken me this long to read this book, but I finally did and I am so happy that I did! This book was captivating and heartbreaking in the best way possible. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

