Choose Your Own Style Adventure

Grace & Style: The Art of Pretending You Have It by Grace Helbig

five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

grace & styleNow, this YouTuber book was one that I was super excited to get my hands on! Grace Helbig is someone that I have been following for quite some time via her YouTube videos. The main thing that I appreciate about her is her authenticity. She does not shy away from who she is or from the harshness of the realities of the world. Her humor and her candor are some of the things that draw me to her – which is a reason why I really wanted to read this book, as well.

Her first book, “Grace’s Guide: The Art of Pretending to Be A Grown-up“, is a tongue-in-cheek guide to everything you need to know about being a grown-up. I haven’t read this one yet, but after reading this one, I am intrigued enough to get a hold of her first book. “Grace & Style: The Art of Pretending You Have It” is a tongue-in-cheek “style guide” where Grace shares some of her thoughts and feelings around style, while reflecting on how she came into her own.

This book made me laugh, warmed my heart, and had me reflecting on my own style. As a young woman in her late 20’s, “style” is something that I am still working to own. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely have a pretty set style and aesthetic about me. I like to think of myself as classically casual, with pops of quirk. What I am working to own is just that, though, knowing what it is my style is and feeling confident in that. I am definitely getting better with it, but I am still working on the confidence piece. That is what I appreciated most about Graces’ book, as she shared her own struggles and what she now owns as her style.

My biggest take-away from this book: own your style and own your beauty! Society teaches us women that we are not allowed to own our beauty, that our beauty is for others and not for us. That is completely wrong. Our beauty is for us, and we choose to share that beauty with those that we choose to share life with. We need to stop letting society dictating what “beauty” must mean and we need to start choosing our definitions for ourselves. We also need to build each other up, as women, rather than tearing each other down with hateful and hurtful language. So, again…own your beauty! Because YOU are beautiful just as YOU are 🙂 ❤

Now, I leave you with one of my favorite Grace Helbig videos – I definitely recommend that you check her out!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

