January TBR Jar Challenge Wrap Up

january tbr challenge

Hello readers!! We have now completed our first TBR Jar Challenge of the year! 🙂 We’re pretty excited for this, as it definitely mixes up our reading experiences throughout the year and we are happy to share in it with you all!

These wrap up months will be short mini-reviews and our reading experiences from that months’ challenge. We would love to hear from all of you about your reading experiences, as well, if you chose to join in on that months’ challenge! 🙂 As a reminder, our January TBR Jar Challenge was: Classic Novel.

Christina: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen                       three-star-rating-black-hi
Yes, yes…I was very slow on the “Pride & Prejudice” bandwagon – so, this month was thepride and prejudice perfect opportunity for me to finally get to it and knock it off my TBR list. I admit, I had a difficult time getting into it and I think that had to do with needing to get used to Jane Austens’ writing style. However once I got into it, I really enjoyed myself. I loved reading about the relationship between Jane and Elizabeth and I loved Elizabeth as the sassy, intelligent, and out-spoken protagonist. This might be the most controversial thing that I say, but I definitely was not a huge fan of Mr. Darcy. I’m sorry! I felt that there wasn’t enough balancing out his jerk-side with the newfound charming side that Elizabeth fell in love with, so I almost didn’t buy it. The ending also fell flat for me, which felt so anticlimactic. The story was really building and then it just ended. I didn’t love the story, but I didn’t hate it. I am definitely glad that I read it and I look forward to diving into some more classics now that I’ve gotten this one under my belt.

Rachel: Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand (Rating TBD)
Personal revelation time: this book is so. freaking. long. Shocker, right? Between grad school stuff and tutoring students on the side, I only got through about a third of the book so far. I’m hoping I can make a bigger push for it and finish it up in February. For as long-winded and uber-capitalist as it is, I am enjoying it so far. I find it pretty different than anything I’ve read, so that’s keeping my interest up. Hoping to write up a full review this month!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

