A Violin Playing Pirate

The Only Pirate at the Party by Lindsey Stirling

five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

It’s definitely not easy to rate memoirs mainly because I don’t think it’s my place to ratethe only pirate at the party someones’ story telling…particularly when it’s their own story. With that being said, that is exactly why I love memoirs. There’s something really special and powerful about storytelling and learning how to tell yours to yourself and to the world. I am always honored and excited to read memoirs of people I admire or just really enjoy, and this person is definitely one of those people.

Lindsey Stirling is someone that I’ve been following for a couple of years now, as I have always been a huge fan of her music. As someone who was trained as a classical pianist for many years, I have always admired her ability to fuse classical violin with EDM and rock. I believe it shows great talent as a musician, but also such creativity to be able to put completely different genres together seamlessly. As I fangirl, I will share with you one of my old favorite music videos of hers, when she collaborated with another favorite YouTuber of mine, Kurt Hugo Schneider.

Now that I’ve fangirled enough – let me tell you what I thought about her book. I very much enjoyed it. I have always admired Lindsey Stirling as an individual. Lindsey Stirling has always been open about body positivity, which I always appreciate seeing in women who have large social platforms. Lindsey has also always been open about her faith and what that means to her as a big time musician, in terms of how she chooses to dress and even how she chooses to carry herself in the entertainment industry. I have always appreciated her openness, authenticity, and all of her talent.

I cried and I laughed during this book, which was all I could ask for out of a memoir like this. I read this in one day and it was a great palette cleanser after “Pride & Prejudice”. If you enjoy Lindsey Stirlings’ music, I would definitely recommend checking out her memoir. Thank you Lindsey Stirling for your kind and brave storytelling 🙂

Leave a Reply

