“You’re a Wizard, Harry…”

So, I started re-reading the Harry Potter series back in December and I meant to finish all seven last month, but with holiday traveling and what not…I fell behind. That being said, I am not going to do full reviews of the books, instead I am going to be doing slight “Then/Now” impressions of the books. In this first post, I am going to combine the first three books, as they were the shortest and most of my impressions haven’t changed for these three. Enjoy! 🙂

five-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

harry potter #1Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (#1): This was such a pleasure to re-read for so many reasons and I swallowed it up in one sitting, just like I did when I first read the book. I felt all of the feelings while re-reading this book and for a moment, I was transported back to my childhood falling in love with this world and these characters. This first book will always be a book of true nostalgia and childlike happiness. Plus, re-reading them with the beautiful new covers wasn’t a bad touch! 😉

harry potter #2Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (#2): The first time I read this book, I found it to be my least favorite. However, in my re-read…I have come to appreciate several aspects of the book. First, you definitely see more of the Weasley family in the books and I loved reading about their family dynamics. Secondly, I forgot how truly eerie the Chamber of Secrets was and the introduction to how dark Lord Voldemort is. I always dig a backstory, particularly for villains.

harry potter #3Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (#3): Yess!! This book always fell into my top 3 Harry Potter books and after my re-read, I believe it stays there! Professor Lupin, by far, is my favorite part of this book and one of my favorite characters in the whole series. This is also the first book that gave me a lot of feelings when Harry is reunited with Sirius, and for the first time has a real family again! The stakes are getting higher for Harry – and I definitely felt that this go around.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

