Top 5 Books of 2015

2015

We’ve done a lot of reading this past year and we have to say, we’ve read some really great books. It’s very hard to pick favorites when it comes to books, but here is what made our top 5 lists this year!

Christina

  1. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone: OCD is something that is so inaccurately portrayed in mainstream media, so I always appreciate an author that can get it right.
  2. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: Race is an important issue in today’s society and we need more books like this that directly address the issues of how race is portrayed/perceived by people today.
  3. The Archived by Victoria Schwab: I loved the magical realism of this book – it was haunting, beautiful, and captivating. Super quick read, but so enjoyable. (Quick note: my review was a dual review of the duology – read with caution!)
  4. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey: I don’t typically love alien books, but this one is an exception! Plus, the movie is coming out soon!! (Quick note: my review was a dual review of the duology – read with caution!)
  5. Cress by Marissa Meyer: The Lunar Chronicles is definitely one of my favorite series now, hands down, and this third installment was my favorite!

 

Rachel
I can’t bring myself to rank them, so here they are in no particular order:

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: this is the kind of YA that I think we all crave. It’s action packed, has just the right amount of romance, and is chock-full of interesting characters.
  • All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr: this has everything I love in a good book…beautiful writing, a compelling setting (France in WWII), and a heart wrenching ending.
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand: in case you can’t tell, I like WWII stories, and I don’t think you can find one more compelling than this.
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: this book renewed my faith in YA lit. If the world of Six of Crows could be defined as gritty, this one would be defined as cruel.
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes: this book included so many things I don’t normally read about (love, disability, a quieter plot), and yet I absolutely loved it–so much, in fact, that I read it all in one sitting (with a box of tissues nearby)

 

Val
I am also incapable of ranking these in any order, so here they are in the order they come to mind:

  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins: A great companion read to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, and a fantastic mystery/thriller read.
  • The Real Thing by Ellen McCarthy: I think when I read this, I was desperate to see something in my own relationship that wasn’t there. What it really taught me is what I should be looking for instead.
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon: A whirlwind romance and exploration with a great surprise twist.
  • Devoted in Death by J.D. Robb: a great twist on my favorite series. Can literally pick these up any time and enjoy the crap out of them, every time.
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven: One of the heaviest books I have ever read, but also one of the best told stories that really pushes on all the right emotions at the right time.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2015

  1. Daniel Waltz says:

    I’m planning to read Six of Crows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

