Let’s [Just] Pretend This Never Happened…

*This is my second super late review – sorry for the delay in my reviews! I will definitely be better with posting soon after finishing my reads! Enjoy! 

Let’s Just Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir – 4/5

let's pretend this never happenedI haven’t read many memoirs and this one was referred to me by a friend, so I decided to finally give it a go. I didn’t know anything about this book, other than something taxidermy and mental health – odd combination, I know…but nonetheless, I was quite intrigued.

This is Jenny Lawsons’ memoir recounting her odd childhood with her taxidermy-happy father and figuring out how to live with her mental illnesses. That is the easiest and quickest synopsis that I can give. I always have a hard time “judging” memoirs, as they are people recounting real moments of their lives and I definitely don’t want it to seem like I’m ever judging their life.

 

 

So, I’m going to do quick bullets of what I enjoyed about the book:

  • Jenny Lawson is so hilarious!!! 😀 I laughed tons, which was a nice balance of what could’ve been a pretty intense read. Truly though, hilarious woman – loved her voice!
    • In addition to her hilarity, I loved her seeming scatter-brained, stream of consciousness writing style! It was fun, different, and so unique.
  • Her honest recount of her mental health journey. It was such a refreshing read and quite hopeful, in the most realistic way!
  • Her very honest view into her relationship with her husband, particularly as it was impacted by her mental health illnesses. Again – super refreshing and super hopeful!
  • The “real” moments: while she was super hilarious and light hearted, she also balanced those moments out with the “real” moments. The “real” moments weren’t super serious or super heavy, but it just felt like I was talking to a friend about it.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. It was a nice change in my reading and it is the right push that I need to continue to diversify my reading.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

