Mockingjay, Part 2 Movie Review

mockingjay part 2

Mockingjay, Part 2 – 90%

I watched “Mockingjay, Part 2” last night and…OH…MY…FEELINGS!!! I left the theater with so many feelings, which obviously meant that I needed to get them out here. Spoiler warnings: A) If you haven’t read or watched any of the movies, DO NOT READ THIS!! There will be spoilers and I do not want to spoil any of you! B) If you haven’t watched this movie yet, I will split this review into movie non-spoilers with my general feelings and then, there will be a more spoiler-y section. I also wanted to include one of my favorite BookTubers review of the movie, because it’s a good review! Here we go!

My general thoughts/feelings: OOF, Y’ALL…OOF. The feelings are real!! Out of all four of the movies, I will say that I thought that this was the most faithful adaptation to the original source material. I still stand by my thoughts that I don’t think that it needed to be split, but that being said – this was a great portrayal of the “second half” of the last book. I was super impressed with how close to the book it was, which means (for those of you that have read it) that there are tons of feelings left and right. I guess that’s all I can say without spoiling anything about the movie, so again, I recommend that if you haven’t watched the movie yet, go watch the movie and then come back! 🙂

Spoiler-y thoughts/feelings: Y’all…y’all…Y’ALL!!!! 😥 This movie broke my spirit apart and all of my feelings become exposed to the world. My friend and I went to Chipotle eat our feelings afterwards…yeah…haha!!

Like I mentioned before, this film was definitely a true book to movie adaption – oh my goodness. When the movie ended, I was left with this absolutely satisfying feeling that I was left lingering in the movie theater just reflecting on all of my feelings. It was a strange bittersweet feeling because I was so happy that it stayed so true to the source material, but that meant that all the feelings that I felt while reading the book were all there while watching the movie.

The main action scene with the Capitol mutants in the Underground was definitely one of my favorite scenes. Jennifer Lawrence was fantastic and it was great to see how truly badass Katniss really is during wartime. She was just slaying, flawlessly, left and right and it was awesome! Finnick was also so flawless with his trident which reminds me how flawless Finnick really is to me, haha!!!

Of course, I have to talk about all the deaths in this movie. I’m not gonna lie, when I heard that this movie was being split into two parts, one of the concerns that I had was that some of the deaths were either going to be changed or just not happen at all. Well…well…like I said, this is the most faithful book to movie adaptation that I’ve seen in a while which means…

  • Finnicks’ death: When I read this in the book, I cried endlessly…or at least, it felt that way. I had grown to love Finnick and who he was for Katniss. Finnick always believed in Katniss and especially after his wedding with Annie, Finnick was a beacon of hope of a happier life for everyone else. Now, if you thought his death was brutal in the book, think again! The portrayal of his death in the movie was heartbreaking in the most real way possible. I couldn’t…definitely cried a whole bunch.
  • Prims’ death: Now, when I read this the first time, I was livid! How could Suzanne Collins kill off the one character that was LEAST deserving of dying in this entire trilogy?! Not only that…the whole point of this trilogy was Katniss volunteering to save her sisters’ life! And then she dies?!?! Oy…but, the more I read times I read the book, the more I understood the role that Prims’ death had to play in propelling Katniss further. I was thankful that her death in the movie was quick and it was done in a way to show just how impactful Prims’ character was to everyone in the movie.

Now – the ending, pre-epilogue really felt split into three pieces:
A) The scene with Katniss and President Snow in his rose garden. This was so well done and it was so beautiful! It was pretty evident that President Snow is dying, but this scene really showed how frail this man actually was. The conniving nature of President Coin is really brought to the surface, as well, and watching Katniss realize this while she was grieving Prims’ death was heartwrenching.
B) The scene with the victors voting on the Capitol-version of the Hunger Games was done so well! So many feelings were felt as people were voting “yay” or “nay” and I didn’t realize how much of an impact Katniss’ vote would have on me while watching. So well done!
C) President Coins’ assassination scene was just…WOAH!!! From Katniss getting ready with Effie to the actual assassination was so tense! It was paced so well for the people who haven’t read the book to not really know what to expect, which led to my high anxiety during this entire scene, haha!!!

Now, things that I wish were…better? I totally wanted Finnick and Annies’ wedding to be a bit more produced. This was definitely my favorite part of the book as it showed the hopeful light amidst the dark sadness of wartime. It was super simple and super beautiful, but I do wish it had a bit more on-screen time.

I still don’t know how to feel about the epilogue…just like I didn’t know how to feel about the epilogue when I was reading it. I know that it was written to be a portrayal of Katniss and Peetas’ ability to have the “life of a victor” (movie spoiler, hehe…), but I always struggle with epilogues like this in a lot of books. That’s all I’ll say about that because I really don’t know how to feel. I think the scene with Katniss crawling into bed with Peeta would’ve also been a perfect ending, but…yeah.

I know this was super long, but like I said – so many feelings!!! It was so well done, though, I will definitely be watching it again. I am so impressed with how close to the original source material this movie was and I am so glad that this was how the Hunger Games franchise ended. The Hunger Games trilogy is still one of my favorite series, and so I am super happy with how the movies ended. Way to be! 🙂

 

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

