tl;dr nice little halloween story with a tune to match

divinersThe Diviners by Libba Bray – 4.5/5

Evie O’Malley has a gift of reading objects to lure out secrets, but not everyone is very accepting of this “gift”. She is sent to live in NY with her Uncle Will after she gets a little drunk and spills some of these secrets about the town’s golden boy. The story is set in the 1920’s, which was interesting for me as I typically do not read historical fiction. But the mix of the time period with the well developed cast and supernatural elements worked out really well here. Can Evie’s gift help solve the cases of the Pentacle killer? And when it does, will anybody believe that a ghost is responsible? Most importantly, will I ever stop singing that creepy song in my head?!I found this novel on a list of creepy Halloween themed books to read in October, and it definitely did not disappoint! The plot to be very developed and I really enjoyed the intermixing of historical facts with the story. The story is told through several characters of various ages, races, classes. Just different people in NY in this time period, which I think added a lot of depth to it. It was curious to see how the characters would cross and where it would all lead. Some of the stories have yet to cross, while others crossed in ways I did not expect. You are left with a lot of mystery about some characters and what will happen next, in general.

Perhaps the most disturbing part, to me, was that I kept singing Naughty John’s song to myself, randomly. I thought this was actually kind of cool as it kept the creepiness of the novel with me throughout the day, and if I was one to scare easy I may have been really freaked out by it! Who hasn’t considered the possibility that they are walking down the street with a serial killer a few feet away from them? (No one, just me?)

The one thing I will say is that I feel like every time i pick up a YA novel anymore, THERE IS ALWAYS A SEQUEL! Maybe it’s just the one’s I happen to be running into, but in my opinion it happens far too often.. what happened to the good old one and done? To this point, in order to set up the sequel to this story, there was SO much after the big climax/battle scene…. SO MUCH. We get it, something is coming. We get it, it will be in the next novel.

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “tl;dr nice little halloween story with a tune to match

  1. elissalynch says:

    I like your review style, Ranie. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to read this for forever – will definitely be picking this up soon! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

