Shadowhunters Pilot React

shadowhunters tv show

Some of you may know that the “Shadowhunters” TV show is dropping January 2016 and I don’t know about y’all, but I’m pretty stoked! As someone who’s still relatively new to the Shadowhunter Chronicles, I am very excited to see it translated to the TV screen. I never watched the “City of Bones” movie, but I heard that the movie was not a great adaptation of the story, so I am excited to see how well they can potentially get it for TV. I have been following news on the “Shadowhunters” TV show via some of my favorite BookTubers and other forms of media pretty casually, so needless to say, I was pretty stoked when they dropped a 7 MINUTE SNEAK PEEK of the pilot at New York ComicCon!!!!

There is surprisingly a lot packed into just 7 minutes and I already have so many feelings about it! So, I thought it might be fun to do my own react blog post. Before I get into my thoughts and feelings, go ahead and watch the clip below, so we can enjoy in my musings and theorizing together! πŸ™‚

Quick note:Β I am still working my way through the Shadowhunter Chronicles, so please no spoilers for the series for me in the comments or anyone else. I am starting “Clockwork Angel” now, and have read through “City of Glass” – I will definitely be working to finish both the TMI series & TID trilogy before the TV show drops in January πŸ™‚

AAAHHH!! Right?! First of all, I have to admit: this is super well done!! I am ve
ry impressed with how the show looks so far. Given the nature of the books, I actually do think that adapting it to TV rather than a movie might be best. TV gives them the opportunity to expand on the story and share way more of the details in order to really get a full picture of the Shadowhunter world. That being said, yes, the pilot looks a little cheesy – but, again, given the nature of the books, I also think there needs to be a bit of cheese in the show. So – I’m not taking the show too seriously and you shouldn’t either, haha!

First: the characters and the casting:

  1. TV Clary = Now, up to this point of the books, Clary is not my favorite character – I know…I know. I think she’s very rash and doesn’t really take the time to think through her actions, and how they may impact those around her. TV Clary is interesting…definitely NOT what I pictured. TV Clary appears to be more comfortable in her skin and more confident, which is great – but, book Clary felt way more awkward and unsure of herself, which makes her feel way more rash in her actions. I am interested to see if I like TV Clary more and I do appreciate them creating a stronger female character for the younger audiences to be able to connect to.
  2. TV Simon = YAAAASSS!!!! Simon is currently one of my favorite characters in the book and I think his casting is SPOT ON!! πŸ˜€
  3. TV Magnus Bane = YAAAAASSS!!!! YAAAAASSS!!! HARRY SHUM JR FOR THE WIN!!!!! πŸ˜€ ❀ Not only am I a HUGE FAN of Harry Shum Jr, but I love Magnus Banes’ character in the books. I love his sass, his strange wisdom, and his fierceness. I think Harry Shum Jr is going to be PERFECT!!! SWOOOON!!!
  4. TV Alec = I am definitely digging Alecs’ character in the books, particularly because I love his character identity story arch in the books as he continues to explore the different facets of his identity.
  5. TV Isabelle = I am worried about them sexualizing Isabelles’ character a bit more, which isn’t portrayed in this way in the books. In the books, I view Isabelle as a confident, badass, family-oriented, and strong woman that definitely knows how to kick ass. I hope she continues to stay that way without being portrayed as an overly sexualized character.
  6. TV Luke = I know he’s not in the pilot, but I am super stoked!! I need to share: I have been reading a lot of ridiculousness about his race in the show and how he’s not a black man in the books, which is infuriating. A very similar uproar happened when Rue was cast in The Hunger Games, which I thought was just as ridiculous. First off, there is nothing wrong with choosing to cast someone of a different skin color for any role, in my opinion. We live in an increasingly diverse society, in so many ways and why shouldn’t we want to show that in media? Secondly, technically speaking, there is definitely no mention of Luke’s race in the books – guess what, I am reading them right now. Luke is my favorite character in the books and I think that we should give whoever plays him a chance to show us what he can do with the character, and I think it’s great! There, soapbox done – please don’t hate me πŸ™‚

Second, the storyline (?): I am pretty stoked as it looks like they’re following the books pretty close. I will be very curious to see if they are just adapting “City of Bones” into this TV, or if they will be pulling from the other books throughout the series in order to make a full TV series. Anyone know? πŸ™‚

Lastly, the effects: Yes, again, like I said earlier, it definitely looks super cheesy. I don’t think that’s a bad thing though! I think that there needs to be an element of cheese in this TV series in order for it to be accessible for anyone, including those who haven’t read the books.

I think the show is going to be fun and enjoyable! πŸ™‚ I am pretty excited about this whole thing and I am excited to continue my own journey through the Shadowhunter Chronicles before the show airs in January. If you want to continue to absorb yourself in more talk about all things Shadowhunters related, please follow my favorite BookTuber, Christine at polandbananasBOOKS!! She is super great and she has made a ton of videos related to the Shadowhunters world and other bookish stuff. Check her out! πŸ™‚

Now – are you excited for the “Shadowhunters” TV show to drop in January? Share your thoughts in the comments below!! πŸ™‚Β 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

