Shapeshifting Mischief

Nimona – 4/5

nimonaI have been seeing more and more hype and talk around graphic novels, which is always a medium that I have been wanting to read more of. I read Anya’s Ghost a couple of months ago and loved it. I found the graphic novel medium to be a refreshing change of pace and storytelling from traditional books. Recently, I have heard a lot of hype around Nimona within the BookTube community, so I was intrigued enough to finally pick it up and I am so glad that I did! 😀

Nimona is the story of a shapeshifting sidekick (Nimona), who comes to work for Ballister Blackheart, a well-known villain. Their mission is to prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and the Institution of Enforcement and Heroes aren’t the heroes that everyone thinks they are. As the story progresses, Ballister Blackheart begins to realize that there is more to Nimona and her past that she might be letting on.

This was so much fun and I read this in a day’s time. The story was easy to follow and just so much fun! One of the few critiques that I have is that parts of the plot felt like they were dragging, in order to continue building up to the big climactic battle at the end of the story. This was definitely a much longer graphic novel that I’ve ever read, so I thought that there could’ve been better pacing for the story throughout the graphic novel. Just as there were some slower parts, there were also other parts that could’ve used more expansion and explanation: particularly the in-depth explanation of Nimona and her abilities. When the climax happened, it felt that it happened quickly and I don’t think I fully understand what was going on when Nimona split or how that even happened.

The characters were a riot and the best part of the entire novel! 😀 Nimona is quirky, odd, feisty, but with an air of mystery surrounding her past and where her shapeshifting powers came from. Ballister Blackheart is the type of villain that really knows how to tug at my heartstrings. The type of villain where you actually question their “evil character” and can see that there is so much more good in them than not. Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin is your seemingly obnoxious and privileged hero that supposedly will swoop in and save the day. However, there is more to Goldenloins’ story and his connection to Blackheart. I also very much enjoyed reading about the relationship between Goldenloin and Blackheart, their backstory and really getting to see both of them in very different lights.

All in all, I loved it! 😀 It was so much fun and a quick read! If you are thinking of checking out graphic novels, I highly recommend this!

Any graphic novel recommendations? 

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Shapeshifting Mischief

  1. Daniel Waltz says:

    I don’t know how I feel about graphic novels entirely either. I mean, I enjoy projecting what I imagine in my head, and don’t know how I would feel if those projections are done for me when it comes to books. But, this does sound super enjoyable and I love the artwork in the cover so I may have to give it a try!

    – Dan, author of The Water Travelers

    Like

Leave a Reply

