Psssst…I Like You ;)

“To feel so known, so understood. It’s such a wonderful feeling. I could cry.”

P.S. I Still Love You – 4/5 

I was happy to pick up the second book in this duology by the ever wonderful Jenny Han!! 😀 This duology is definitely the perfect summer pair to read – they’re light, fun, sweet, and are both very quick reads. So, if you are looking for a sweet and simple summer read – definitely pick up this duology!! 🙂 p.s. i still love you

One of the things that I appreciate THE MOST about this book is the integration of Lara Jeans’ Korean heritage!! 😀 I really do not believe that there is enough diversity in YA lit – particularly contemporary literature. I was so happy that Lara Jean was half-Korean, but I loved that Jenny Han actually integrated that aspect throughout the entirety of the book. P.S. I Still Love You started at the New Years and it was so much fun to read through the Korean tradition of the New Year. It makes me think back to how I spend all of my New Years Days with my own family, which is why I think it’s so important to diversify our YA protagonists. I can’t tell you the last book that I read from a character that I could identify with because they looked like me – so, I really appreciated reading this book from Lara Jeans’ perspective.

Another thing that I really love about this duology is the theme of family 🙂 There is a strong emphasis on family and Lara Jeans’ relationship with her sisters, Margot and Kitty. I was happy to have Margot in the beginning of this book and to be able to see her big sister relationship with Lara Jean and the relationship between the three sisters. I appreciate that even in a cutesy contemporary book with a love interest, the main focus can be about the relationship between the Song sisters and their dad. So sweet!!!

Now, for the men in Lara Jeans’ life: my slight hang up is with Peter K – I think I’m supposed to like him, but a part of me just doesn’t. I know that they’re in high school, so they will act very high school, but I just think that Lara Jean deserves better for most of the book. However, I will say that I appreciated how strong Lara Jean was throughout the book and she definitely knew how to stand up for herself, when Peter K definitely didn’t deserve having her in his life. John Ambrose McClaren – SWOON!!! 😀 I was all sorts of swooning over all of the interactions between Lara Jean and John. ESPECIALLY the party at the retirement home where Lara Jean was working when John showed up in his uniform and the convertible?! My goodness – swooning all over the place!

All in all – I loved this book – so sweet! 😀 I liked the first one better than this one, but definitely still a super easy, light, and quick summer contemporary read! 🙂 ❤

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

