Summer Reader Book Tag :)

summer book tag

So, I saw one of my favorite BookTubers, Jesse, do this tag and I thought it would be fun to do the same here! I will link Jesses’ video here and you should definitely check it out! 🙂 Without further ado, here is the tag!

1. Lemonade – Pick a book that started off bitter, but got better. 

Christina: The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – Just like any high-fantasy series, this book definitely started super slowly. There was a lot of world building that the reader definitely needed patience to push through to see past the world building into the story. As the story went on, however, I started to feel more excited for where this trilogy is going to go! 🙂

Rachel: Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky – This was my first foray into Russian Literature, and it definitely took some time to get used to. A slow start made it’s way to a fantastic story.

2. Golden Sun – Pick a book that made you smile beyond compare. 

Christina: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – When I was looking through the list of books that I’ve read in the last year or so, I almost forgot about how much this book made me smile. This was my first audiobook experience and it was definitely the best audiobook experience that I could’ve asked for! 😀 Narrated by Mindy, the book made me smile, laugh, and made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Rachel: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie – It’s been a while since I picked this up, but I remember how much of a refreshing, fun read this one was!

3. Tropical Flowers – Pick a book that is set in a foreign country.

Christina: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – This was such a lovely read and it took place in a dream city of mine – Paris! 😀 Swoon! I loved the characters, the story development, and how the characters folded into the beauty that is the city of Paris.

Rachel: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – London, England doesn’t necessarily feel very foreign, but Gaiman adds the coolest Underground to give this book a very cool city for its setting.

4. Tree Shade – Pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced. 

Christina: The Archived by Victoria Schwab – I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’m just going to leave it at this 😉

Rachel: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – This is one of the most fantastic “children’s books” that every adult should read. The boy’s relationship with the monster is absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking.

5. Beach Sand – Pick a book that was grainy, and the plot was barely developed. 

Christina: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close – This was such a bummer because I was really looking forward to this book! The book was just not as developed in the way that I was hoping that it would as an empowering feminist novel – the characters fell flat for me, the storyline was super predictable, and the themes weren’t fully developed.

Rachel: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson – I know so many people that enjoyed this book but frankly I wasn’t one of them. It isn’t so much a story as it was a diary of long-winded reflections. It’s beautiful and poetic, I get it, but that doesn’t count as a plot in my opinion.

6. Green Grass – Pick a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile. 

Christina: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – I love, love this series!!!! 😀 I am so looking forward to the final installment in November, Winter!!!! These characters are so vibrant, so fun, so quirky, and such great models of strong female heroines! This series is definitely rising up as one of my favorite YA series.

Rachel: The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling – Rowling sure knows how to bring her characters to life! They’re far from perfect, and yet it’s those imperfections that make them so endearing.

7. Watermelon – Pick a book that had some juicy secrets. 

Christina: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick – So, the secrets in this book definitely aren’t juicy, but they are some truly heavy secrets in this book. Such a beautifully written book that touched me so deeply and I will never forget 🙂 ❤

Rachel: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – This beautiful tale, set in WWII, does a magnificent job of weaving in different tales about the many secrets kept by the characters. It’s a must read!

Val: Bit Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – This entire book is written about one big juicy secret that you don’t find out until the very end.

8. Sun Hat – Pick a book that had a vast, big universe/setting. 

Christina: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – I mean, traveling through alternate dimensions…? How much more vast and big can you get?!?!

Rachel: A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin – I’ve been wandering through the kingdoms of Westeros and Essos for quite a few years now…HBO’s Game of Thrones is holding me over until the next book!

9. BBQ – Pick a book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk. 

Christina: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Daemon…definitely – haha! The hunky alien neighbor next door – oh sigh. Haha – while I was not a huge fan of this book and am not sure whether or not I am going to continue with this series, Daemon was definitely supposed to be portrayed as the silent and hunky type, haha!

Rachel: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – Similarly to Mina, I’m not sure if I’m going to continue this series but the Darkling is one intriguing, hunky character! Like I mentioned in my review, if I end up picking up the sequel, it will be to read more about him!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

