TL;DR i love this whole series

Obsession in Death by J.D. Robb – 5/5

81ZBL-QDWXLSometimes I feel entirely too overwhelmed with the amount of reading I want to do. With my first grad school class starting next week, and the incredible amount of novels I want to get through in my lifetime; it can get overwhelming. To keep my enthusiasm alive, and to floss my brain with something other than the impending mass of statistics and business economics I am about to receive; I picked up a pallet cleanser. Now, I don’t mean that in a bad way, not the typical way that phrase is used. I am completely in love with/obsessed with the whole “…In Death” series (as I refer to it). I own the first 14 novels myself, and if I am not wrong this particular one is number 20.

I got into this series almost 10 years ago. I was on the annual trip to Door County (WI) with my family and picked out “Purity in Death,” from the random selection of books available at the office of our campground. 10 years later, whenever I need to pick up a familiar and cozy book about brutal futuristic murder, these are where I turn.

NERD ALERT: One of the books in this series makes a small cameo in the movie 40 Year Old Virgin, but leave it to me to be the only person in the world to have caught that.

The scene where Steve Carell’s character is at the book store repeating everything Elizabeth Banks’ character says… Memory in Death proudly sits on the bookcase behind them. Of course it’s blurry, and you can’t really tell… but I just know that’s it. And honestly, for some reason that makes me love this series even more.

Anyway, let me tell you about the novel. It is based in the mid 2000’s where things are mostly the same, but slightly different. Hookers are licensed, AutoChef’s make all your meals/snacks/drinks (and your pets’), and cars have a vertical gear to allow for easier parallel parking. Lieutenant Eve Dallas is on yet another case. I won’t spoil this for you because two books in you will figure it out for yourself, but there is a formula to these books:

1. Eve almost always has a headache.

2. She drinks entirely too much coffee.

3. She feels guilty about her childhood.

4. She has sex with her husband 2-5 times.

5. There are typically 3 murders/book.

6. You can count on Eve to catch the bad guy – sometimes even with casualties of her loved ones.

So what amazes me, is that twenty books in, they still hold my interest. They are a perfectly paced read that seems to fly through my hands before I even realize it. The details between each novel, between each story, and between each page, vary enough to keep you interested. You don’t have to read the series in order, you don’t even have to read the whole thing, (although I highly recommend it), but I think it helps in developing and relating to the characters.

Although it is far in the line of the series, this novel is on par with the rest. Well done J.D.

P.S. You would never guess which romance author is disguised under this pseudonym.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

