J’aime Le Petit Prince

A Review of The Little Prince
by Antoine de Saint-Exuperyfive-star-rating-black-clip-art-hi

 

This feels like a safe place, so I’m going to go ahead and air out a secret…[deep breath]…I have never read The Little Prince.

You can’t be serious.
Did you even have a childhood?
What self-proclaimed bibliophile hasn’t read The Little Prince? 

I know; trust me, I know. I can’t quite explain how I’ve never managed to pick this up. I could blame my foreign parents–it’s always easy to blame it on the parents. Regardless, when I saw this little novella on my friend’s bookshelf, I snatched up the opportunity, and basically told her I was taking it with me. It took all of an afternoon to savor this fantastic little story. 

This is a beautiful little book that I’m sure anyone of any age would enjoy. Aside from the poetic magic that lingers far after you reach the last page, this story has much to say about all the wrong things “grown ups” care about.

A king who has too big a need for authority.
A vain man who won’t listen to anything but acclamations.
A drunkard in an endless cycle of addiction and shame.
A business man consumed by greed.
A lamplighter stuck in a routine.
A geographer blind to the beauty around him.

And we’re all of them, at one point or another. In our grown up world, we can lose sight of what’s really important. The Little Prince reminds us of it, though.

“Here is my secret. It’s quite simple: One sees clearly only with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.”
“Anything essential is invisible to the eyes,” the little prince repeated, in order to remember.
“It’s the time you spent on your rose that makes your rose so important.” 
“It’s the time I spent on my rose…,” the little prince repeated, in order to remember. 
“People have forgotten this truth,” the fox said. “But you mustn’t forget it.” 

It’s in the giving of ourselves that makes all the difference.

Are there any books you never got around to as a child, and ended up reading later in life?

P.S. – If I end up in Paris again this summer, I am so going to pick up a copy of this in French.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “J’aime Le Petit Prince

  1. Now, seeing as how this is a safe space – I, too, have not read this yet 😦 Sigh…I definitely have to pick this up now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

