TL;DR Ugly love; pretty good story

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover – 4.5/5

So what I was not expecting was a milder version of 50 Shades of Grey. I had told Mina and Amelia that I was reading this and Mina made a comment about how she had been debating picking up a Colleen Hoover novel, but was not sure, and now I can completely see why.  The gist of the story is that Tate moves into her brothers apartment for a few months and immediately becomes infatuated with his neighbor, and friend, Miles. I would overall say this is one of those books you read for fun, I would put her on track with Janet Evanonich (who’s Stephanie Plum series I absolutely adore), with an added sexy bonus.

17788401It’s written in alternating chapters, one’s in the present, and one’s from six years earlier. The latter slowly builds up to what happened to our sad sad Miles to break him, while the present is basically a window into Miles’ bedroom with Tate in his bed, and a few other places 😉  Since i am helpless sucker for mystery, I often found myself wanting to skip the romps of the present, and read the story of the past. I liked the writing of the past a lot more than her present tense. I also thought that Miles apologized too much in the present, compared to how perfectly he was written in the past. His character was meant to be so closed off from love that he was indifferent to anyone, or anything that made him feel anything. Although the story is obviously supposed to be about them getting together, him apologizing after every little thing that hurt Tate was emasculating to his character.

When it comes to the story of what happened to Miles in the past, I enjoyed it. I think it was well thought out, and made sense to the solitude and hurt of his character. The ending was extremely predictable, but cute (WAY better than the ending of Gone Girl, which I am still evidently upset about). Although this is a very lighthearted read, I found myself crying towards the end, but I do have an empathy problem I can’t seem to get rid of. I noticed right away that I wasn’t supposed to figure out the title of the book until I knew the whole story, but I was actually very satisfied with it. I think Hoover defined ‘ugly love’ perfectly, and the term should make its way into our every day vocabulary. If you’re looking for a fun, quick (I read it in two sittings), and easy read this is should top your list!

On Deck: Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

I originally found the story in a Reddit post that described it as a story of a man who is in love with a 12-year-old, which I must admit was an odd topic to want to read about. Since it was on a list of must read’s I figured I would give it a try anyway. Reading a little bit about the author, I was even more interested. I have actually gotten about 15 pages into this book already, and feel the need to throw out a warning: this novel was published over 50 years ago, and it shows. Before committing to it, consider this sentence from page 12:

“Our brains were turned the way those of intelligent European preadolescents were in our day and set, and I doubt if much individual genius should be assigned to our interest in the plurality of inhabited worlds, competitive tennis, infinity, solipsism and so on.”

I find it helps to have my phone near me as the vocabulary had me stumped by the end of the fourth paragraph. Color me intrigues Mr. Nabokov.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

