Liebster Award Nomination

Hi everyone! Rachel here. Yes, I’m still alive! Unfortunately my schedule kinda blew up in the past month so I’ve been making very slow progress on The Goldfinch. Goodreads informed me that I’m five books behind in my reading schedule and I had a mild heart attack. A round of applause to Christina and Val, who have been keeping this blog going strong!

Last week the lovely Allie and Libby over at The Excellent Library nominated us for the Liebster Award! Thanks so much ladies! You should definitely check them out. I love browsing their book-centric posts that leave me full of laughs and inspiration.

So the “rules” of the nomination are as follows:

  • Link back and thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.
  • Answer the eleven questions they give you
  • Tag up to eleven blogger who have 200 or less followers
  • Ask your nominees eleven questions and let them know you tagged them!

Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to do much exploring of other blogs, so no nominations yet. As we come across them, we’ll be sure to let everyone know about them! In the meantime, here are the answers to the questions we received:

What is your favorite book that you were required to read in school?

Rachel: I would definitely have to say The Catcher in the Rye. It came as a total surprise. Nothing about the book stood out to me at the beginning. Why should I care if he got kicked out of Pencey Prep? After a while, though, I couldn’t get it out of my head. I swear I started to call people “phony”! In fact, the school project I enjoyed the most was creating a soundtrack for The Catcher in the Rye. It’s the quintessential teenager book. Everyone should read it, as a teenager. Otherwise it’ll never ring quite as true.

Val: I would have to say Where the Red Fern Grows. Honestly, at this point I don’t even remember that much about the book, but I remember it made a huge impression on me at the time.

Christina: Most definitely Crime & Punishment!!! I read this my senior year of high school, so there were definitely plenty of other books that I had to read for school that I loved – but this one has always stood out to me. I loved the intricacy of the story and the depth of the characters. Such a beautiful read – I’ve been meaning to re-read it for a while now.

If you’re not enjoying a book, do you abandon it or force yourself to finish it?

Rachel: I try to give books a fair shot, but if I’m about a third of the way through and still not feeling it, I’m out. I have over 400 books on my to-read list. I’m not going to waste my precious reading time on some mediocre book!

Val: I have only ever abandoned 3 books in my life, and it really doesn’t make me feel good. 1.The Hobbit in 7th grade: I had gotten 55 pages into the book and it just wasn’t doing it for me. 2. Wicked, about 4 years ago: this one made me really sad, I knew the book was supposed to be great, and it kept my attention for the first 2/3, but after that   just dreaded picking it up. I left that with about 100 unread pages. 3. If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things 6 months ago: I just couldn’t get into it. Overall, I have to agree with Amelia, there are so many more interesting books to read, there is no sense in spending time on books that don’t interest you.

Christina: I definitely agree with my fellow bloggers – I will absolutely give the book my whole effort, but I usually only let it get to a point and then I’ll put it down.

What’s your favorite quote from a book?

Rachel: I cannot possibly choose just one.

I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right. ~ Marcus Zusak, The Book Thief

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Among other things, you’ll find that you’re not the first person who was ever confused and frightened and even sickened by human behavior. You’re by no means alone on that score, you’ll be excited and stimulated to know. Many, many men have been just as troubled morally and spiritually as you are right now. Happily, some of them kept records of their troubles. You’ll learn from them—if you want to. Just as someday, if you have something to offer, someone will learn something from you. It’s a beautiful reciprocal arrangement. And it isn’t education. It’s history. It’s poetry ~ J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

Do I dare
Disturb the universe?
In a minute there is time
For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse. ~ T.S. Eliot, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” (favorite poem, so I’m counting it)

Val: I won’t even begin to try on this one. (if this was a TV interview, this is the part where everyone laughs knowingly)

Christina: I mean, anything from Harry Potter. This isn’t even a question – haha!

What book did you think you would love but didn’t?

Rachel: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. Travel and history and vampires and my motherland? Sounds like the formula to my perfect book, but this fell flat. I don’t know how she managed to make all that feel so very dull.

Val: Wicked, and it made me so sad! The play was supposed to be fantastic, the book just as great, but about 2/3 of the way in it just came completely apart for me.

Christina: I definitely agree with Ranie – I totally thought that I would love Wicked. Loved the play – but just couldn’t get through the book. Right now, though, I’m struggling with The Book Thief, which makes me feel like a terrible person. I’ve put it down for a while now and I just can’t seem to bring myself to pick it back up again.

If you could choose two authors to write a book together, which authors would you choose?

Rachel: How fun! Again, I can’t narrow it down to one, or even the ones that are still alive. F. Scott Fitzgerald and John Green, because they both capture their generations well. J.R.R. Tolkien and J.K.Rowling, because it would be so epic. Jane Austen and Mary Shelley, because they’re two kick-ass women within two different genres.

Christina: Oooohh…how exciting! Let me see… I think John Green and Stephanie Perkins would make a great YA contemporary pair. A great balance between the heavy and the light.

What’s your favorite movie based on a book?

Rachel: I think the recent adaptation of The Great Gatsby is fantastic. Leo and the others did great, and the soundtrack really captured the 1920’s. Game of Thrones on HBO is also excellent.

Val: I have to say the Time Traveler’s Wife. Honestly, I think almost all movies based on books do not do the book justice, but something about this one worked for me. Maybe because I saw the movie and then read the book? And i just love Rachel McAdams.

Christina: This is tough…I typically always prefer the book over the movie. Book to movie adaptations that I quite enjoyed, however, were: Time Traveler’s Wife and Catching Fire (best one of the Hunger Games trilogy).

Do you prefer real books or ebooks? Paperbacks or hardcovers?

Rachel: Real books! Hardcovers!

Val: REAL BOOKS! I even have a Kindle, but barely use it since it just doesn’t feel the same. It kind of feels like cheating to me. Paperbacks, I’m always worried about damaging a hardcover. And what are you supposed to do with the sleeve while you’re reading?!

Christina: While I have enjoyed getting into ebooks, as of late – I will always always pick real books! And I think I would pick paperbacks – cheaper, lighter and sometimes easier to pack and carry around.

What book (or series) would you like to see as a movie?

Rachel: Twilight! Just kidding. I think if they could do it right, I would totally see a movie version of Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.

Val: I just wouldn’t.

Christina: Mm – The Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken. I think this could be so cool, if done well!!

Who is your all-time favorite author?

Rachel: J.K. Rowling, for the series that shaped my childhood and gave me my love of reading.

Val: When I was younger it was Phillip Pullman. Now I don’t think I can just narrow it down to one; there are so many great authors and books out there.

Christina: I mean, aside from J.K. Rowling…Roald Dahl, definitely! The book that changed my reading life at a young age was Matilda. I loved his storytelling technique and the quirkiness of his books. I loved that I could see myself in these books and that the books were a little outside of the ordinary. It helped shape the way that I see the world and where I see myself in the world.

If you had to be a character in the last book you read, which one would you be, and why?

Rachel: Ginnie Hempstock from The Ocean at the End of the Lane  by Neil Gaiman. Typical English countryside mum with incredible powers and the coolest house? Sign me up.

Val: Ha. Technically I already am, as the book was about how to improve my own life.

Christina: Haha, totally not sure…hmmm. I think Aristotle’s mom – she has a great lightness about her, even though she’s been through some dark stuff. I really appreciated how she let Aristotle to be himself and to explore all facets of his identity. I loved her immediate acceptance and love for Aristotle and how she adapted to him, rather than making him adapt to her.

You have to kiss, marry, and kill three different characters from your favorite book. Which characters would you choose?

Rachel: Oh gosh. Kiss Harry, marry Ron, and kill Hermione so I get her man.

Val: I can’t possibly pick a favorite book, so I have to skip this question too 😦

Christina: This is hard!!! What book to choose…what book to choose. I might copy Amelia here and just pick Harry Potter. So – I would kiss book Cedric Diggory (pre-Goblet of Fire), marry Draco Malfoy (I’ve always had a soft spot for him – book and movie) and kill…is it lame to say Voldemort? Haha!!!

 

Thanks for the fun questions, ladies!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

