Charming & Chilling Tale

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – 4/5 

This was my first Neil Gaiman read and I am so glad that it was my first! 🙂 Definitely did not know what to expect going into this book, but I am happy to report that I was pleasantly surprised! 🙂 I found the book to be quite charming, haunting, and quirky – all things that make a great read, in my opinion! It was also, hands down, one of the strangest books that I’ve read in a long time – which is why I am definitely not going to even try to write a synopsis of the book, heh. If you are interested in a synopsis of the book, I will link the Goodreads page for this book.

oceanSo – why did I enjoy this strange, quirky and haunting book? The narrator was a huge proponent of why I enjoyed this book so much! The narrator was a middle-aged man recounting his childhood as he visits his childhood home for a funeral. The majority of the book was the narrator as a child, which carried such a charm as you listened to this small child tell you his story of the strange events and people of his childhood. There was a naivety and innocence in the story telling, that it definitely kept me engaged and connected to the narrator. The story was also incredibly chilling and sometimes frightening, again because of the child narration – which was very different.

All in all, I thought this book was very, very different – and at times, I just didn’t know what to think of the book. Sometimes, I really had no idea what was going on and other times, I had to go back and re-read parts of the book to see if I missed anything. It was just so strange and so surreal, and yet I had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next. This aspect of the book was definitely what took me off guard and what surprised me most, but I greatly enjoyed the surreality of it all. It was very complex and surprisingly, quite moving.

So – very much enjoyed it and I definitely recommend this to all! 🙂 I am so excited to get out there and read more of Neil Gaiman’s book. I think my next one is going to be American Gods – thoughts? Let me know if you have any good Neil Gaiman recommendations of what to pick up next! 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Charming & Chilling Tale

  1. ameliafawkes says:

    Mina! I’m so glad you got to finally check out Neil Gaiman! I knew you would like him 🙂 he really has quite the imagination, and in the strange/surreal parts, I found it better to just go with it! American Gods has been on my list, too. Maybe we’ll end up reading it together.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We should do a read-a-long! 🙂 I’m pretty excited to pick up my next Neil Gaiman read – not sure when it will be, but I’m hoping soon!

    Like

  3. ranielee says:

    Thanks for adding the Goodread’s link, made it super easy to add it to my ‘to read’ shelf 🙂

    Like

  4. ranielee says:

    Also I only now realized that you are also drinking something in your pic. well done gang!

    Like

Leave a Reply

