Beating Your Reading Slump

reading slump

Now, I don’t know about all of you, but I’ve had my fair share of reading slumps. And sadly, that is what most of February has been for me šŸ˜¦ I’m not a huge fan of these reading slumps, obviously, as I live and breathe my books. But alas, reading slumps happen here and there and it is happening with me now.

I started reading The Book Thief last month and still have YET to finish it. I know…what? It’s THE BOOK THIEF!! How could I not blaze right through it? All of my friends who have read it loved it and I genuinely know that I would too, so…why is it that I still haven’t finished it? After doing some reflecting, I have come up with 5 different things that are helping me to break my reading slump and maybe can help break yours too! šŸ™‚

5 Reading Slump Breaking Strategies:

  1. Read something else that you know you’re going to enjoy! – This is something that I have a very difficult time with – I am definitely NOT the reader that enjoys having multiple reads going on at once. But rather than attempting to power through a book that you are not enjoying, I have learned that it is best to take a pause on your current read and pick up a book that you know you are going to enjoy. Go back to a favorite genre or a highly anticipated read of yours! This helps positively reframe your reading, so that you can go back to your reading slump book in a better mood! šŸ™‚
  2. Take a break!! – I feel this weird pressure when I finish a book to immediately pick up another one. Call it a security blanket issue or an identity crisis, but I find that I am constantly picking up a new book. In the grand scheme of things, this is great, but this brings me straight to reader fatigue, which inevitably leads me to another reading slump. So, what I also did this go around was start taking breaks between my books. Take a few days to unwind and watch TV or do something else, rather than immediately immersing yourself in another world. I forgot how sad it can be leaving a book world that I have come to love so much, which makes the next book world so much harder to love.
  3. Reassess your reading environment – This one was weird to title, but we’re just going to go with it. I recently started a new job that requires a pretty lengthy bus commute in the mornings and evenings. I take 1 bus to the downtown bus depot and then hop on to a second bus to take me all the way to work. All in all, it takes roughly 35-40 minutes to get to work one way. At first, I thought this was going to be a great reading time! Alas, it ended up not being that ideal. There are times where I don’t feel well while reading, there are times where I’m distracted by something else, and there are just times when I don’t feel like reading that early in the morning. So, I have stopped reading every day on the bus and changed up my reading environment again. I read at lunch, I read at home or I read in coffee shops.
  4. Change your reading self-talk – This might sound a little odd, but I truly believe your self-talk impacts the way you take in the world around you and your “reading self-talk” is no different. If you keep telling yourself that you are not enjoying your book…guess what? You’re NOT going to enjoy your book! Haha!!
  5. Incentivize your reading!! šŸ˜‰ – This is also kind of a stretch, but it’s this kind of out of the box thinking that can help break your reading slump. So, incentivize! Whether it’s a favorite treat after you finish a book or setting an amount of books to read and rewarding yourself based on that. This not only allows you to treat yourself, but it also gives your reading a different kind of fun! šŸ˜‰

There you go! I know this was kind of a different blog post, but I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and I thought that others might be able to relate to this reading slump issue.

How often do you all experience reading slumps? What strategies do you all utilize to break your reading slumps? šŸ™‚Ā 

One thought on “Beating Your Reading Slump

  1. ameliafawkes says:

    Great list Mina! I’m going to need to try some of these for The Goldfinch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

