Val’s Top 5 of 2014

As I mentioned in my intro post, I have only recently come back into the majestic world of books, so my top five of 2014 is going to be more of a top five of the-only-ten-books-I-read-this-year.

1. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I also read this novel in one sitting, and with such vigor that it has to top this list. I had seen a lot about it in the last few months and knew I wanted to read it eventually, but it seems I had no idea what I was missing until I finally had my hands on it and read the description on the back. First and foremost, I LOVE suspense. If you peak my interest with mystery, I will do everything possible to get to the punch line. Of course this novel had me on the hook from the first page. To me, this had more of an emotional climax, and boy was it worth the wait! Suicide being a hard topic to write about, I thought it was handled beautifully here. If you have not read it, I hope instead of reading my post you are running out to get your copy.

2. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Another novel clouded in mystery that I raced through in one sitting. At first I was slightly skeptical as it was a young adult book, and I was fairly certain I had mostly outgrown those at this point. However, I got so lost in the writing and storyline that I quickly forgot that this should have been on my reading list about ten years ago. Not once throughout the story did I figure out the truth of what really happened. And then it revealed itself, it was like fireworks going off in my head. I love that kind of ending. I ended up going back to some parts of the book to see how I missed it.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I didn’t even know this novel existed until the movie previews came out. I put it on my library hold list, and was bummed to find out I was 42nd in line. When I finally got the email only two short months later, I was ecstatic.  Another mystery. Another firework ending. Are you sensing a pattern here? Once most books reveal their secret, they can only keep going for so long before the reader (me) loses interest. For most novels this happens within a few pages of the end. For some, this can be only halfway through the book. This is the latter. HOWEVER, it worked. For a while I was worried about the ending the narrator had suggested, but it’s probably a good thing I am not an author. Although, I am still not sure how I feel about the actual ending. Either I am missing something, or psychologically speaking…. it’s a little messed up.

I’ve had this draft open for a whole day trying to think of what other two books I wanted to add. At this point I’ve realized that I am looking for the wrong thing. This is supposed to be a list of my favorite books, not just books I have read. Looks like I will be ending my list with three. Good thing I will have more options by the time next year’s post rolls around!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Val’s Top 5 of 2014

  1. […] Laura Hillenbrand The Martian by Andy Weir Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (especially after both Ranie and Mina loved it in 2014!) Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami Wuthering Heights by Emily […]

    Like

  2. […] and frustration. I wish I could like this book as much as some of my other friends (particularly Ranie and Mina) but I just didn’t. My experience with both suicide and high school students kept that […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

