Hope you have a strong stomach

The North Water by Ian McGuire
ijss5

6114a9maznl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Hey kids! Do you like violence? What about gratuitous amounts of gross imagery?? Great!! You’ve come to the right place.

This book is full of all things capital-V Violent and capital-D Despicable. Seriously, it is not for the feint of heart. If you can’t stomach a book full of terrible characters and grotesque descriptions, don’t read this book. Not just for your sake, but also because I don’t want you to judge me for actually finishing a book full of terrible characters and grotesque descriptions.

This story in itself is pretty good, and I do like McGuire’s writing style, but too much of it involved painting an incredibly descriptive word picture of the last things I want to imagine. Having read/watched Game of Thrones, I didn’t really heed the warnings I heard, but Henry Drax puts the likes of Joffrey Baratheon and Ramsay Bolton to shame.

I can see the appeal in this book, and can appreciate the literary value in the tale of survival and moral exploration, but I just didn’t enjoy my reading experience. Some other reader may love this book, but it certainly was not for me.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Hope you have a strong stomach

  1. […] Ultimately a different choice than what I originally planned. I already wrote a review on this one…you can find it here! […]

    Like

Leave a comment